"Suspicious followers?"



Hi,

I've just received notification that user called "social" started to follow my activity at Ohloh. Lookint at social's profile and website, I'm suspicious that it can be a kind of spam.

Here it is: https://www.ohloh.net/accounts/socialnetwork http://www.kirod.com/

I'm not sure what is the best way to report it, so I've decided to ask here.

Best regards, Mat

Avatar

Mateusz Loskot

almost 3 years ago
 

hi social!

Thank you for your reply. I'm glad you are not a spammer. In this case, I have no problem with you following me, really. Perhaps I overreacted, but I have to admit that the website at kirod.com looks a bit dodgy (no contact info, no affliations mentioned, no real names mentioned, etc.) + "empty user's page" at Ohloh did not sound well. Thus, I got suspicious.

I'm glad you have clarified and it was a false alarm.

Thanks!

Mat

Avatar

Mateusz Loskot

almost 3 years ago
 

Mateusz don't get fooled. Just because "social" is answering does not make it any less spam. This is obviously an experiment to see if flowing thousands of people will increase page rank on search engines.

Edit: Alternatively I guess it is an university project.

Avatar

Hendrik Brummer...

almost 3 years ago
 

Thanks for raising the alert on this user. I've deleted the account.

This account had used some kind of script to "follow" nearly 3000 other accounts, which is not exactly what our system was built to handle.

I suspect the goal was to increase traffic or Google juice for the account's home page URL. We've got zero patience for that sort of monkey business.

Avatar

Robin Luckey

almost 3 years ago
 

Hendrik, Robin,

Thanks for the helpful follow-up. I was too simple-minded, indeed.

Mat

Avatar

Mateusz Loskot

almost 3 years ago
 



 

Creative Commons License Copyright © 2013 Black Duck Software, Inc. and its contributors, Some Rights Reserved. Unless otherwise marked, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License . Ohloh ® and the Ohloh logo are trademarks of Black Duck Software, Inc. in the United States and/or other jurisdictions. All other trademarks are the property of their respective holders.